City Center - "Cetate" District
The Cetate district, the city center of
The Fortress has grown ever since the 12th century. A major boost in its evolution was the building of the castle by the Hungarian king Carol Robert of Anjou between 1307 and 1315. This castle’s “successor” is the Huniade Castle, which today houses the Banat Museum. In 1552, the city of Timişoara was occupied by the Turks. Only in 1716 the Austrian imperial army, led by Prince Eugen of Savoy, managed to free the city.
The old Ottoman fortress was demolished and a new one was
build, star-shaped, inspired largely by the Vauban fortresses. Protected by the walls, the “inner city” emerged, with a rigorous streets’ system, very modern for that time. This system is still kept almost entirely, despite the fact the city’s defensive walls were demolished after 1892.
In the Cetate district, especially in Unirii Square and Libertăţii Square, many Baroque buildings dating from the eighteenth century are still preserved.
In the early twentieth century, while demolishing the fortifications, numerous 1900s style buildings were added. The very elegant Secession palaces with a great architectural value give Victoriei Square its dominant note. The whole urban ensemble is typical of the 1900s in Europe. In the city center there are also monumental buildings with neo-Romanian elements.
The Cetate district of Timişoara unites historical monuments in a fascinating and original combination.
The Faculty of Medicine
The Civic Park
Timiş County Department of Culture
Search the site
Fotografii din Timișoara
Fotografii din Banat